Canada’s oath of citizenship now recognizes First Nations, Inuit and Métis rights

Date Announced:

June 21, 2021


The government has been at work over the past few years updating the Oath to include Indigenous peoples, through Bill C-8. This directly responds to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) Call to Action 94. Bill C-8 has received Royal Assent and is now law. As of June 21, 2021, Canada’s Oath of Citizenship officially recognizes First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and the obligation that all citizens have to uphold the treaties between the Crown and Indigenous nations. The new Oath of Citizenship recognizes that Indigenous rights are both enshrined in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, and that they derive from the historic use of this land by Indigenous peoples. As new Canadians recite the Oath, they will make a personal commitment to observe the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.

Departments and Agencies:

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:

Permanent residents


First Nations | Inuit | Métis

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.