Government of Canada introduces additional measures to address COVID-19 Omicron variant of concern

Date Announced:

November 30, 2021

Active Period:

November 30, 2021 until January 31, 2022.


The Government of Canada is expanding the list of countries with entry prohibitions originally announced on November 26, 2021, to include Egypt, Nigeria and Malawi. Effective tomorrow, foreign nationals who have been in any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada: Botswana; Egypt; Eswatini; Lesotho; Malawi; Mozambique; Namibia; Nigeria; South Africa; and Zimbabwe.

Departments and Agencies:

Health Canada | Public Health Agency of Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:



Africa | flight restrictions | travel restrictions

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.