Government of Canada introduces further restrictions on international travel

Date Announced:

January 29, 2021

Active Period:

February 3, 2021 until further notice.


In addition to proof of a negative pre-departure test, Transport Canada will expand the existing international flight restrictions which funnel scheduled international commercial passenger flights into four Canadian airports: Montréal-Trudeau International Airport, Toronto Pearson International Airport, Calgary International Airport, and Vancouver International Airport. The new restrictions will include scheduled commercial passenger flights arriving from the United States, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and South America, which were exempted from the previous restriction. Private/Business and charter flights from all countries will also be required to land at the four airports. Flights from Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon and cargo-only flights will remain exempt.

Departments and Agencies:

Transport Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:



Caribbean | Central America | Mexico | South America | travel restrictions | United States

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.