Government of Canada introduces new measures to address COVID-19 Omicron variant of concern

Date Announced:

November 26, 2021

Active Period:

November 30, 2021 until January 31, 2022.


As a precautionary measure, until January 31, 2022, the Government of Canada is implementing enhanced border measures for all travellers who have been in the Southern Africa region — including South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Namibia— within the last 14 days before arriving in Canada. Foreign nationals who have travelled in any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada. Canadian citizens, permanent residents and people with status under the Indian Act, regardless of their vaccination status or having had a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19, who have been in these countries in the previous 14 days will be subject to enhanced testing, screening, and Covid Prevention Measures>Quarantine measures.

Departments and Agencies:

Health Canada | Public Health Agency of Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:



flight restrictions | Southern Africa | travel restrictions

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.