Los Angeles Declaration on Migration and Protection

Date Announced:

June 10, 2022


We, the Heads of State and Government of Argentine Republic, Barbados, Belize, the Federative Republic of Brazil, Canada, the Republic of Chile, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Costa Rica, the Republic of Ecuador, the Republic of El Salvador, the Republic of Guatemala, the Republic of Haiti, the Republic of Honduras, Jamaica, the United Mexican States, the Republic of Panama, the Republic of Paraguay, the Republic of Peru, the United States of America, and the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, gathered in Los Angeles on the occasion of the Ninth Summit of the Americas, reiterate our will to strengthen national, regional, and hemispheric efforts to create the conditions for safe, orderly, humane, and regular migration and to strengthen frameworks for international protection.

Departments and Agencies:

Office of the Prime Minister

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:


international protection; migration; Summit of the Americas

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.