PC 2021-0614 Minimizing the Risk of Exposure to COVID-19 in Canada Order – Prohibition of Entry into Canada from any Country Other than the United States

Date Announced:

June 21, 2021

Active Period:

11:59:59 p.m. EDT June 21, 2021 until 11:59:59 p.m. EDT on July 21, 2021. Repealed by PC 2021-0731.


This order is to (1) support Canada’s continued focus on reducing the introduction and further spread of COVID-19 by decreasing the risk of importing cases from outside the country; (2) continue to prohibit entry into Canada of foreign nationals arriving from countries other than the United States, with some limited exceptions, and if they have reasonable grounds to suspect they have COVID-19, if they have signs and symptoms of COVID-19, or if they know they have COVID-19; (3) allow any person approved as a permanent resident under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to enter Canada; (4) continue to maintain the requirements from the previous Order; and (5) extend the restrictions on entry into Canada until July 21, 2021.

Departments and Agencies:

Health Canada | Privy Council Office | Public Health Agency of Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:



essential service | exceptions | national interest | approved permanent resident

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.