PC 2021-0967 Minimizing the Risk of Exposure to COVID-19 in Canada Order – Prohibition of Entry into Canada – Specified Countries

Date Announced:

November 27, 2021

Active Period:

This Order comes into force at 11:59:59 p.m. EST on November 27, 2021 and ceases to have effect 00:01:00 Eastern Standard Time, January 31, 2022.


This order is to (1) support Canada’s continued focus on reducing the introduction and further spread of COVID-19 by decreasing the risk of importing cases from outside the country; (2) prohibit entry of foreign nationals based on their 14-day travel history from any country identified by the Chief Public Health Officer as having an outbreak or at risk of having an outbreak of the Omicron variant, with limited exceptions; and (3) extend the restrictions on entry into Canada until January 31, 2022.

Departments and Agencies:

Health Canada | Privy Council Office | Public Health Agency of Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:



flight restrictions | Southern Africa | travel restrictions

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.