The Government of Canada announces new measures for pleasure craft in northern communities

Date Announced:

June 1, 2020

Active Period:

June 1, 2020 until October 31, 2020.


As of June 1, 2020, pleasure craft will be prohibited from operating within Canada’s Arctic coastal waters (north of the 60th parallel), as well as in the coastal areas of northern Quebec and Labrador. These measures will remain in place until at least October 31, 2020. These restrictions do not apply to pleasure craft used by local communities, or used for purposes such as essential transportation or subsistence fishing, harvesting and hunting.

Departments and Agencies:

Transport Canada

Type of Administrative Action:

Immigration Category:

Citizens | Economic migrants | Family class (reunification) | International students | Parties to immigration proceedings | Permanent residents | Prospective immigrants | Refugee claimants | Refugees | Registered Indians | Temporary foreign workers | Temporary residents | Visitors


Arctic | pleasure craft | travel restrictions

Send us your feedback:

If you have comments pertaining to this policy document, please complete this form.